YOLO 07-29-2012

After weeks of no rain – finally the heavens opened, with a double rainbow at the end.

Last week, I posted my first YOLO list, in an effort to remind myself of my many blessings, and make a concerted effort to approach each day with an open mind and a good attitude.  I am happy to report that the week was a rousing success!  Amazing how much better my day went when I started it in prayer, and then a reminder to watch for God’s presence during the day.

One thing to note about my YOLO ideology.  It isn’t so much to throw caution to the wind and bungee jump off a short bridge using a long rope.  It’s more to remind myself that every day is a gift, and that every second of every day should be appreciated and cherished, even if it involves losing a Packers game, or worse yet, losing a Packers game to the Vikings.

On that note, here are this weeks observations.

1.  Getting my hair colored and cut.  For you ladies out there, you know how awesome this is.  Not only do you look and feel fabulous when you are done, you also get to chat and gossip with your hairdresser.  Added bonus – my hairdresser is my daughter.  🙂

2.  Corebar HIT – last week I posted about rollerblading with my friend Shari.  One of the things we talked about was an exercise class her co-worker took called Corebar HIT, at a place called Reality Fitness in DePere.  It sounded intense, but we work out quite a bit and are in decent shape, so we decided it give it a go.  Well, holy cats.  By the end of the class my water bottle was bone dry and I had puddles of sweat under my feet.   We are definitely going again!

3.  Packers training season started.  ‘Nuf said.

I went with my friend Dawn (definitely a ‘lifer’), to go see our friend Rosemary’s artwork at a local gallery showing. Both friends started as co-workers. This was my favorite painting of Rosemary’s!

4.  Even though some days I am not the happiest camper about what I do for a living, I realized this week how many really, truly good friends I have made at my place of employment.  Some of them are ‘lifers’ – friends I will always be friends with, no matter where any of us go.  There is something to be said for that.

5.  We moved into reading Isaiah in our 3×5 Club.  Not that I am such a fan of the prophets – they had the unpleasant jobs of telling Israel that they were going someplace where carrying a hand-basket was required.  However, Isaiah is chock full of messianic references and I always get a bit of a thrill when I run across them.

Oh yes, I am “that” person, taking my own picture with my bike.

6.  50 mile bike ride on Saturday, with the end result of having over 500 miles now on my bike.  I am in total bike geekdom over this!  Love, love, love my Cannondale!

7.  Wednesday morning prayer meetings at McDonald’s.  You never know when being public about your faith will help someone.

8.  The start of the Olympics!!  I love the Olympics!  And perhaps “love” is one of those over-used words, so perhaps I truly only really really really really like the Olympics.  Regardless, I will be spending my time this week watching men and women compete at the highest level, showcasing years of training and dedication to their sport.

9.  That moment at work, when I realized we wouldn’t make a shipment for an important customer, and I didn’t let it steal my joy.

10.  The pure bliss of wandering the rows and rows of books at the library.

Okay, I could go on, but I think this is long enough!  Until next week!

Sue

About Sue

Sue - Christian, Writer, Mom, Wife, who likes to have fun by biking, reading, kayaking, hanging out with family and friends, playing with her dogs, and a pile of other stuff. Trying to share her experience, strength and hope with others!
This entry was posted in Biking, Faith Journey, Family, YOLO and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

