YOLO

When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me”. – Erma Bombeck

In light of recent events, including the death of a close family friend and the Colorado shootings, I have decided to make a weekly post of blessings, good deeds, joys, and accomplishments, where I see God in the midst of our lives.  I’m calling this the “You Only Live Once” weekly posting, in honor of Ecclesiastes, the current book I am in right now in my 3×5 readings.

I guess I want to stop whining and take responsibility for my happiness.  I want to focus on starting my day with prayer and a good attitude, even if it’s Monday.  I want to use the rest of my moments in joy and gratitude, whether I am doing laundry or laying on the beach.  I want to love God, and the people He put in my life, more completely and fully, each and every day.

On that note, here are this weeks observations.

1.  Fields of alfalfa on Sportsman’s Road bike route.  I was huffing and puffing, dying on the uphill climb in 90 degree heat when my nose ran into a wall of sweet smelling clover.  I had to stop and snap this picture to remind me of God’s rejuvenating spirit in times of struggle.

2.  A person I love dearly made a comment during the week about trees being so happy with the recent rain that they were ‘waving’ at her on her way to work.  This made me smile all day.

3.  On Saturday, I got to spend a few hours rollerblading with my good friend, Shari.  We ended up going about 14 miles, not really thinking that much about it because we were so busy talking.  Considering it was our first time rollerblading this year, I’m pretty impressed with both of us.

4.  Church in the park – my church held service today in the park.  We had a nice breeze coming thru and Pastor Dave had a fun sermon about God’s golf game.  Best treat was the vacation bible school kids’ musical performance.

5.  Dave and I went to Elkhart Lake for swimming and hanging out in the sun for the afternoon.  I was in the house, hemming and hawing about what I wanted to do for the day, and Dave swooped in and saved me from my indecision.  Yay!

Forgive the brevity – creating this post was a last minute thought after a day spent in the sun (and Son).  I am a little tired, and it’s past my bedtime.  I will have more next week!

Until then!

Sue

About Sue

Sue - Christian, Writer, Mom, Wife, who likes to have fun by biking, reading, kayaking, hanging out with family and friends, playing with her dogs, and a pile of other stuff. Trying to share her experience, strength and hope with others!
This entry was posted in Faith Journey, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to YOLO

  1. Learning a lot from my sister!

  2. Naomikko says:

    love the Erma Bombeck’s words

    • thinspaces says:

      Thank you! And thank you for following my blog! I visited yours as well – you posted a really cool video about a man who found a way to believe in himself again. So very inspirational!

Leave a Reply

